Creamy Mustard Penne with Sausage

After having a mustard pasta at a local restaurant I was determined to make one myself! After prowling the internet for recipes I came up with this one by combining a few different ones.

As with any good recipe start by sauteeing some garlic and onions. Throw some shallots, basil and fennel in there for good measure.

Cook the penne – I like to use extra-high fibre penne like Catelli Smart. The only one I could find at the grocery store this time though was this one:

I also picked up some light sour cream. As Frenchie has taught me, you can do just about anything with sour cream! It makes for a nice cream sauce but much lighter than the traditional whipping cream sauce!

As for the sausage I boiled them for about 10 minutes before slicing them up and sauteing them with the onion mixture:

Next on low heat add about 4 heaping tablespoons of sour cream plus 1 tablespoon each of dijon and grainy mustard. Cook just long enough for the sour cream to melt and remove from heat – cooking it too long or high will curdle the sour cream.

Add the penne and voila! The only trouble I found was that the recipe seemed a little too vinegary – maybe I added too much mustard?

Any suggestions on improving the recipe?

Leave a Reply

