Recipe: Canadian Mustard Carbonara

Following a craving for creamy mustard pasta I came up with this recipe for Mustard Carbonara. I added “Canadian” to the title since I added some local Ontario maple syrup. 

I started by making the protein. I combined a few of my favourite ingredients to make the marinade. 

Since I didn’t plan ahead I seared the chicken to ensure it turned out nice and juicy. Just add the chicken to a hot pan (about medium heat) and sear for a few minutes on each side. Then add it back to the pyrex and stick it in the oven. If you’re using a cast iron pan like I do (or a stainless steel pan) make sure it’s nice and hot before adding the chicken. That’s the trick to avoiding the chicken sticking to the bottom! 

I then used the same pan to prepare the bacon – which is what makes it a carbonara! I added some more freshly chopped rosemary to the bacon. 

I then sautéd the onions, shallots and garlic in my favourite ceramic-coated pot. Once they were soft I added the rest of the ingredients until it looked a little like this:

Et Voila! 

This turned out amazingly well. The key I think was continuously tasting the sauce until I had the perfect combination of ingredients. Here’s the recipe:

Pasta:

  • half cup both diced onion and shallots
  • 4 cloves diced garlic
  • 2 tbsp both dijon and grainy mustard
  • half cup whipping cream
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 5 strips bacon
  • 1 tbsp rosemary
  • 1 cup penne or rigatoni 
  1.  In a pot bring 1L of water to a boil and add pasta. Cook according to box directions.
  2.  In a pan sauté the onion, shallots and garlic until soft.
  3.  In a separate pan fry bacon on low heat with rosemary. Chop bacon when finished cooking.
  4.  Add mustard, whipping cream and maple syrup to onion mixture. 
  5.  Simmer for 5-10 minutes and add bacon. 
  6. Drain and rinse pasta and combine with sauce.

 Chicken:

  • 3 Cloves Diced Garlic
  • 2 Tbsp Rosemary
  • 1/2 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Cup White Wine
  • 1/2 Cup Kalamata Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Organic Lemon Juice
  • 2 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  1.  Combine all ingredients in a Pyrex dish.
  2. Sear chicken in a pan on medium heat on both sides for about 2 minutes per side. 
  3.  Return to Pyrex and cook on 325 for 25-30minutes. 
  4.  Let cool a few minutes and slice. 
  5.  Arrange atop pasta.
  6.  Use excess (cooked) marinade as salad dressing.
Leave a Reply

