Curried Lentil Poutine

Lentils are a much-overlooked food that, prior to trying them, I had relegated to the land of hippies and vegans (is there a difference?). Now that I’ve offended a few people let me say that I firmly believe lentils are the perfect food. The astounding percentage of protein in these pulses make them a cheap and healthy Tony-Horton-certified (unofficially!) meal. As of late I have become rather obsessed with finding the right balance of curry paste, lentils and coconut milk. Here is the recollection of my first attempt…

I started with some funky-looking white cheddar (in logo design, not taste). This St. Albert medium cheddar was an excellent choice. Next came my effort to reduce my reliance on frozen foods by making my own sweet potato fries. The effort didn’t go too badly even though I don’t have a deep fryer. The key – I believe – is to use a heavy bottomed pot for your deep frying needs. This Dansk Kobenstyle pot – straight out of the 70s – is the perfect weapon:

To prepare the lentils I used about 5 tbsp of biryani paste and half a can of coconut milk. I tried the “lite” coconut milk which was a huge mistake. It became apparent to me that the lite version of coconut milk is just coconut milk mixed with skim milk… um, great. Next time I’ll just mix in water, thanks. 

Ta da! Those fries were much better than any I’ve had in a restaurant – not to pat myself on the back or anything. Top with the curried lentils:

 

And the wacky cheddar:

Pop in the microwave to melt the cheese if lentil-heat does not suffice:

And there you have it, the healthiest version of poutine known to man. 

Curried Lentils

Ingredients

  • 1 Chopped Onion
  • 2 Cloves Diced Garlic
  • 1/2 Can or Cup FULL FAT Coconut Milk
  • 4 Tbsp Biryani Paste
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1 Can Red Lentils (or 1 cup dried lentils and soak overnight)
  1. Saute onion and garlic in a heavy-bottomed pot until softened.
  2. Rinse Lentils in cold water.
  3. Add remaining ingredients to pot and simmer for 15 minutes or until thickened. 
  4. Serve alone or over fries.
Leave a Reply

