30 Days of Gluten-Free – Day 1

In solidarity with my gluten-free friends I have decided to try going gluten-free for the next month. Many of my friends and family had been eating gluten (which is in wheat along with barley, rye, triticale and used as a filler or flavouring in almost all pre-prepared food) for years before being diagnosed (or self-diagnosed) with a gluten sensitivity. Gluten intolerance can manifest itself in weird ways such as grumpiness (really! I’m not joking), lethargy, skin rashes and of course the obvious tummy troubles. Gluten-intolerance can also disrupt your body’s ability to absorb nutrients – which, as you can imagine, can cause lots of other problems which can mask the gluten allergy. Since my dad and his sisters are gluten-intolerant there’s a pretty good chance me and my sis are too. Since it runs in my family – and it can manifest itself in so many ways – I’m going gluten-free for 30 days. I’ll be posting meal diaries on my blog for everyone out there who wants to try it or is already gluten-free and wants some new ideas! 

Day 1 Gluten-Free Meals:

Breakfast – Fried Egg, 1/2 Cup Almond Milk (in coffee)

LunchCurried Lentil Poutine (I altered the recipe and cooked cubed sweet potatoes in with the lentils instead of making fries and added just a bit of parmesan instead of a wack-load of cheese).

Dinner – Blackened Chicken Wrap on a gluten-free wrap and salad from The Iron Duke – I had no idea the Duke had gluten-free wraps to offer. The wrap was a bit dry and crumbly but it was definitely palatable – all that guac kinda makes up for the sub-par wrap. Props to the Duke for having it on hand though!

Snack – Yogurt, Magner’s Cider (I started on a Saturday!)

Leave a Reply

